Office 2010

Office 2010

Postby » Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:20 am

I am running Office 2010 and do not see any of the ribbons installed in my Office apps. Is 2010 supported?
Participant
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:05 am

Kofax Desktop is working on my personal system with MS Office 2010. However, Desktop is not officially certified with MS Office 2010 at this time.
Perhaps you can try reinstalling Kofax Desktop over itself. Have you already tried this?
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:55 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:27 am

I have tried to uninstall and reinstall several times. No luck yet
Participant
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:51 pm

Have you already tried the Add-in Manager?

Kofax Desktop features are available from certain programs, as listed in the Add-in Manager window. For example, if the add-ins are activated for Microsoft Word 2007, the Kofax Desktop features become available within that program. If the add-in is deactivated, the Kofax Desktop features are no longer available in that program.
When activated, a Kofax Desktop Scan tab appears in the Ribbon of the program where the add-in was activated.
The Add-in Manager lists the status of the Kofax Desktop add-ins as either Active or Inactive. By default, the status is "Active."
Note Be sure to close all Microsoft Office 2007 programs before activating or deactivating the add-ins.
To activate or deactivate add-ins
1. Close all Microsoft Office programs.
2.Start Kofax Desktop Administration.
3.Click Add-in Manager. The Kofax Desktop add-ins appears in the right pane.
4.Under Kofax Desktop Add-ins, do one of the following:
* Select a program icon and click Activate.
* Select a program icon and click Deactivate.
5. Click OK to save.

This still may not work on your installation and yo may have already tried this. Please confirm if you have.

I had Desktop installed on my system with Office 2007.
I then install Office 2010 and Desktop still worked.
I then uninstalled and later reinstalled Kofax Desktop and it still works.
As I already noted, Kofax Desktop 2.0 has not been certified for MS Office 2010, but I can safely tell you that it is working on my system.
has anyone else on the forums tried Office 2010 with Kofax Desktop?
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:55 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:51 am

I checked my Kofax Desktop Add-ins

I only have Explorer Shortcuts no other add-ins are present to Activate
Participant
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:06 am

I have been through multiple re-installations of Kofax software (including Desktop) on my test system and am still seeing that my installation of Office 2010 is recognizing Kofax Desktop.
I had Desktop 2.0 configured with Office 2007. In installed Office 2010 on top and never had an issue with Office not recognizing Kofax Desktop, ever after un/reinstalling the Desktop software.

What was your upgrade path for Office 2010? did you install on top of 2007, or did you install onto a clean system?
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:55 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:58 am

I have 2 systems both with Office 2007 installed previously and I did an upgrade to 2010.
On both systems I installed the Kofax desktop and neither will show the add-ins.
Both of these are running Windows 7 64bit if it makes a difference. I have not tried to install this on a 32bit Windows 7 that has Office 2010 installed.
Participant
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:58 am

Was Kofax Desktop installed and configured with Office 2007, or was Desktop installed after Office 2010 was installed?
What operating system are you using?
Which edition of Office are you installing for both 2007 and 2010?
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:55 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:57 pm

I uninstalled Office 2010 from my system (Windows XP SP3, 32-bit) and tested Kofax Desktop to see that it was still working.
I then installed MS Office 2007 (professional) and it immediately detected and worked with Kofax Desktop. The add-in manager worked as designed.
I then installed office 2010(professional) . Although this still works as it should, The add-in manager no longer lists any MS Office components to activate or deactivate.
At this point I don't know why Kofax desktop is not working with Office 2010 on your system. Further analysis would require a level of support that is not available for this product. This could also be an issue that is actually not caused by Kofax Desktop but by an issue with your PC.
Officially, Office 2010 is not not tested or supported with Kofax Desktop and at this time I don't know when it will get certified. I can only tell you that it is capable of working as it is on my system.
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:55 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:39 pm

I can see the Kofax ribbon in my Outlook but not in any other Office programs. So far not impressed with Kofax Desktop. I've had nothing but difficulty.
Participant
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:23 am

Re: Office 2010

Postby » Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:04 am

Hello Erin,

Please create a new post and list the problems you are having.
Please also detail if you have purchased the product yet, your scanner make & model as well as what version of MS office is in use.

Thanks
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:55 am


Return to Kofax Desktop General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron