vrs elite?

vrs elite?

Postby rpapa » Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:42 pm

has anyone downloaded it?
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: vrs elite?

Postby Hando Penu » Fri Dec 03, 2010 3:29 am

Yes. And installed it on my laptop + one client. No complaints so far.

Hando
Hando Penu
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: vrs elite?

Postby rpapa » Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:23 pm

where did you download it from?
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: vrs elite?

Postby Hando Penu » Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:27 pm

It's available on Kofax distribution website as separate ISO file.

Hando
Hando Penu
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: vrs elite?

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:36 am

Unless I missed something, this is a "pay for" upgrade. Much like when Kofax Introduced VRS Plus/Professional.

I'd guess it would work under an eval license.
Russell
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: vrs elite?

Postby Hando Penu » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:09 pm

Hi!

As I did understand, it will "work" on all VRS licenses, that have incorporated in KC license and have valid uptodate agreement. And it works on eval license also, without any problems. For others, it is paid option.

Hando
Hando Penu
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: vrs elite?

Postby rpapa » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:50 pm

did you run into problems?

I installed on a KC8 VM and it uninstalled my vrs then installed vrs elite.

after a couple of reboots (uninstall and install), no errors, but my scan module will not run. the admin module works, but the scan module tries to run then it disappears from task manager. No error in the logs.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: vrs elite?

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:59 pm

Have you checked the KSM settings in Control Panel?
Russell
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: vrs elite?

Postby rpapa » Wed Dec 08, 2010 12:20 pm

yes. and btw, no more KSM. it's now Kofax VRS Admin console.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: vrs elite?

Postby rpapa » Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:37 pm

did you run into problems?

I installed on a KC8 VM and it uninstalled my vrs then installed vrs elite.

after a couple of reboots (uninstall and install), no errors, but my scan module will not run. the admin module works, but the scan module tries to run then it disappears from task manager. No error in the logs.


it looks like the problem was I ran out of temp space during the install. Even though I ran the setup again after I moved my temp directory to another drive, there's something in the setup that wasn't complete.

Make sure you have enough room in your drive (I was running on a VM, so I made a copy of the VM before I upgraded it). The setup extracts some files into the temp directory. I restored my VM to the original state it was before the upgrade then I made sure I had enough temp directory.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: vrs elite?

Postby Hando Penu » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:12 am

hi!

It seems, that VRS elite + KC9 SP1 has a bug that causes first page of a document deleted (it is treated as backside of the separator sheet), when separator sheets are used and blank page deletion is turned on in VRS. Kofax is aware of the problem and is working on it.

Hando
Hando Penu
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: vrs elite?

Postby Hando Penu » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:38 pm

Hi!

It seems, that VRS elite causes some strange behaviours in KC9 + KTM combo also, so my advice is - avoid VRS elite at the moment and wait for SP1 or first patch set.

Hando
Hando Penu
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: vrs elite?

Postby dkekesi » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:23 am

Hando Penu wrote:hi!

It seems, that VRS elite + KC9 SP1 has a bug that causes first page of a document deleted (it is treated as backside of the separator sheet), when separator sheets are used and blank page deletion is turned on in VRS. Kofax is aware of the problem and is working on it.

Hando

This bug has already been corrected several times in several past versions. Kofax keeps pulling this bug from the hat in all major versions.
Best Regards,

Daniel Kekesi
DocSoft Hungary
Image
dkekesi
Participant
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:56 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: vrs elite?

Postby David » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:34 am

What's VRS elite? :D

Could anyone spare a minute here for a brief overview of the key benefits please?
If you make it idiot-proof, someone will make a better idiot.
User avatar
David
Participant
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:08 am

Re: vrs elite?

Postby Hando Penu » Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:13 am

Hi!

It is new version of VRS - VRS 5.0
the biggest change - in production license it has multicore processor support....
+ some nice features for double-side scanning and auto-profiles by document type....
Hando
Hando Penu
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Next

Return to VRS General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests