VRS Pro v4.1(OEM) - upgrade to v4.5

VRS Pro v4.1(OEM) - upgrade to v4.5

Postby wsnyder » Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:32 am

I'm using VRS Professional v4.1 OEM. VRS v4.5 is packaged with Kofax Ascent v9, will my scanner profiles carry forward during upgrade/install?
Currently QC Later has no check mark as being used, so no concerns with license?
wsnyder
Participant
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:30 am

Re: VRS Pro v4.1(OEM) - upgrade to v4.5

Postby john.killinger » Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:16 pm

KC 9 stores scanner profiles separately from the VRS settings, so they should not be affected. It's best to install SP1 for VRS 4.5 to avoid any possible issues in that regard.

QC Later requires a Professional license, which you state that you already have, so there should be no licensing issues.
john.killinger
Participant
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 2:22 pm

Re: VRS Pro v4.1(OEM) - upgrade to v4.5

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:26 am

wsnyder wrote:I'm using VRS Professional v4.1 OEM. VRS v4.5 is packaged with Kofax Ascent v9, will my scanner profiles carry forward during upgrade/install?


Are you talking Capture scanner profiles or VRS scanner profiles? In upgrading from AC7 to KC9, the upgrade "lost" my Capture profiles. They're still there, I just had to manually move them to their new location. I may have had a similar issue with VRS profiles - I can't remember for sure. Either way, it's not a big deal. Just add it to your checklist.
Russell
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: VRS Pro v4.1(OEM) - upgrade to v4.5

Postby wsnyder » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:47 pm

What is naming standard of Capture scanner profiles? and what directory are they located?
My VRS profile is for example 'wds - 061710.cps'
wsnyder
Participant
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:30 am

Re: VRS Pro v4.1(OEM) - upgrade to v4.5

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:29 pm

wsnyder wrote:What is naming standard of Capture scanner profiles?


The profiles are INI files and they can be named anything, but typically they are named the same as the Batch Class so they will load automatically. In older versions of Capture (pre-8), the files are in Program Files\Ascent. I think KC8 and KC9 store them in the same place.
Russell
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA


Return to VRS General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest