VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:35 pm

Ran the 30-day eval license for 15 days. Added the purchased license to the KC server and the scan station is not seeing it. Hoping to resolve before I re image it.
User avatar
Participant
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Ohio

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:11 pm

Hi!

What does the VRS test console say about the license? What kind of eval license You had? Do you have full KC installation or just plain VRS 5.1?

Hando
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm

Re-imaged the machine. Installed KC Symptoms continued. The install is a scan station consisting of KC10.2.4 with VRS 5.1. Scanner is Kodak i660
Spent several hours with Kofax team today on the phone. Install and everything thus far by the book. Start again on Tuesday.
User avatar
Participant
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Ohio

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:32 am

Did you mean KC 10.0.2.4?

To tell the truth, I've never licensed VRS via KC. It's always been via OEM or a software license on the station.
Russell
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:05 pm

Hi!

I have done couple installations with VRS in KC license, all work without any trouble. Installed KC, updated VRS, and that's all. No problems with license allocations.
Hando
Participant
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:42 pm

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:34 am

Which raises a question - if VRS is installed prior to KC, then will it check KC for a license later after it's installed? Maybe it should, but it strikes me as a possible failure point.

Also, given this combination, I'd recommend installing KC first and then upgrading VRS to 5.1.
Russell
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:31 pm

russell@centuryc.com wrote:Which raises a question - if VRS is installed prior to KC, then will it check KC for a license later after it's installed? Maybe it should, but it strikes me as a possible failure point.

Also, given this combination, I'd recommend installing KC first and then upgrading VRS to 5.1.



I forgot prior to this VRS License issue. I had to edit file on each (already licensed) pc's to ignore the Capture license.
Going to swap licenses on another scanner model to make sure it is scanner related.

Still waiting to hear back from Kofax.
User avatar
Participant
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:00 am
Location: Ohio

Re: VRS 5.1 not connecting to license server.

Postby » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:41 am

johninohio2 wrote:I had to edit file on each (already licensed) pc's to ignore the Capture license.


Eh? I don't understand that one. But perhaps that needs to be un-done.
Russell
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA


Return to VRS General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron