Kofax SCSI 650i Error

Kofax SCSI 650i Error

Postby poodipe » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:26 am

Hi,

We have recently bought an Kofax SCSI card from you and below are the details of the same:

Adrenaline 650i (EH-650-2000)
Model no VP-W004-00S1
Cable part SC-1027-0000

We have bought this card to build an interface for our application with Epson GT30000 A3 Scanner (Automated document feeder) on Windows 2000 Prof OS.

But after our recent installation, we are getting an Error message that Scanner is unable to connect to Kofax SCSI card.
Any ideas on setting up on SCSI ID ?

Could anyone please help !

Regards,
Surya
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:57 pm

Can you confirm that the card is showing up as a Kofax Adrenaline card in Device Manger and not as something else?
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Postby poodipe » Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:14 am

Hi,

We are recently purchased below listed environment for one of our client.

Windows 2000
Epson Gt 3000
ISIS Drivers Version 1.6
Kofax Adrenaline 650i (revision A)
VRS 4.1

The current situation is; The Kofax Adrenaline 650i is detected in Device manager. Ever time I boot my PC windows detects the scanner as a new device (After reading some forums I guess that is normal ) and shows Scanner in other devices.

Things we did so far
1) Installed the Kofax card
2) Installed the kofax drivers and VRS
3) Connected the scanner and rebooted in order Scanner - PC
4) When I try to use VCdemo (Select the scanner and click ok) it gives me an error 20393 Unknown ISIS drivers. We checked the ASPI version and got the latest version downloaded and installed. Still no luck

Can some one help us in sorting this?

1) Have I missed anything
2) Do I need a latest card (Revision C)?
3) Can I launch the VC demo to test the scanning?



https://www.scannerdrivers.com/kb/knowl ... sp?ID=4326
https://www.scannerdrivers.com/kb/knowl ... sp?ID=3940
https://www.scannerdrivers.com/kb/knowl ... sp?ID=6692
https://www.scannerdrivers.com/kb/knowl ... sp?ID=3183 (I don't know which latest version of windows is referred)

Regards,
Surya
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby poodipe » Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:18 am

Error No: 20393: Unknown ISIS drivers.

This is the error message that comes when we use VCDemo.
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:20 pm

Did you install the ISYS drivers for the scanner? Usually that comes on a CD with the scanner.

Have you set up your sources?

Have you installed any service packs for VRS?
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Postby poodipe » Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:54 am

Yes we did install ISIS v1.6 drivers from the scanner cd. Also we did update Adaptec ASPI layer to 4.71.2 from http://knowledgebase.kofax.com/faqsearc ... ?QAID=1609 and ran ASPIcheck .exe to verify the latest versions.
We haven't run any Service pack pateches separtely, rather it has the same that comes with VRS by default.
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby rpapa » Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:49 am

can you run testapp.exe (I think that's what it's called), there's only 2 executables in the c:\windows\pixtran directory. this interfaces with the isis drivers directly. If that doesn't work, then something is wrong with the isis drivers.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby poodipe » Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:53 am

We have found 2 executables under this dierctory:- testapp.exe and testappn.exe

I could see the scanner highlighted when testapp.exe is run. and it doesn't highlight the scanner under Devices found.
When you click OK it gives an error "Unknown Error: -4523"
Also when I run testappn.exe, no scanner is displayed and gives an error : "Insufficient Previlages: -1".
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby rpapa » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:58 am

That's what the problem is. Either your isis drivers were not installed correctly or those are not the right isis drivers.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby poodipe » Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:51 am

Where can I find the correct ISIS drivers?

We did install the latest ISIS drivers (version 1.6) which are given to us in a CD along with scanner. Also we did download the ISIS drivers from EPSON website after a clean image of the machine. BUt still no luck.
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby rpapa » Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:56 am

try deleting the setscan.ini in the windows directory and see if that helps.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby poodipe » Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:38 am

Tried deleting the ini file and restarted the machine, but no luck :cry:

Using Adaptec SCSI card and ISIS drivers - v1.6 on the same machine, its able to detect the Scanner. It gave a pop-up message "Scaning Successful" while running testapp.exe

I believe the problem is with Kofax SCSI card and not with the ISIS drivers.

Could you please ensure that - if Kofax SCSI 650i - Rev A is compatible with Epson GT-30000 A3 scanner ? or if not could you please specify which of these will work fine - Rev C / Rev C1 ? :!:
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby rpapa » Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:59 am

russell@centuryc.com wrote:Can you confirm that the card is showing up as a Kofax Adrenaline card in Device Manger and not as something else?


and there is no exclamation point next to it.

You'll have to talk to kofax regarding the revision. I would imagine it doesn't matter, but I may be wrong.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby poodipe » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:28 am

yeah it does recognise the SCSI card in Device Manager.
poodipe
Participant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:03 am

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:59 pm

poodipe wrote:yeah it does recognise the SCSI card in Device Manager.


Just to be clear, if it's labeled as anything other then "Kofax Adrenaline 650" in device manager, you'll have problems. That tends to happen when the card gets installed before the software. Windows will find a similar SCSI driver and it messes everything up.
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Next

Return to Adrenaline General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest