unknown error / unknown isis error while scanning with 650i

unknown error / unknown isis error while scanning with 650i

Postby rpapa » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:13 pm

We have a customer who has Ascent 5.51, 650i and a BBH 500FB.

setup was working fine until the 650i had to be migrated to a different workstation because of hardware failure.

Initially, the 650 had a yellow exclamation point in device manager. After changing some BIOS setting for the IRQ, the 650 was recognized correctly and scanner was able to scan a page.

Once in production, customer will get an unknown isis error in the scan module. The only way to continue scanning is to reboot the PC. I was able to reproduce the same error in vcdemo. Image controls is 4.0.119.

the workstation is a HP/Compaq. I will get the exact model if it matters tomorrow.

Sometimes, in the middle of the reboot, the BIOS settings that was changed to get the card to work will revert to the default setting making the card have a yellow exclamation point in device manager. So we have to repeat the step above to make it work correctly.

I'm not sure if the BIOS settings are related to the error they're getting in the scan module. The amount of pages scanned varies from as little as 25 to 100+.

I've tried updating the ASPI layer but that didn't help. I will try to reinstall ascent so I get the original version of Image controls to see if that helps.

Any other suggestions? I'm running out of options. The other thing I can do is install XP SP2. It's currently at XP SP1.

The 650i was purchased in 2001. I'm not sure if the firmware can be upgraded?
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:59 pm

What's the current version of Image Controls? I'd be tempted to get to the current version with patches. I believe you can download and install VRS, you just won't be able to use VRS without a license, but that will get you newer drivers.

Call me old-school, but I'd also look at moving the card to make sure it doesn't share an IRQ. In theory, IRQs can be shared but not all drivers play well with others. It's best if the card doesn't share, at last not sharing with the video or NIC which are both going to be very busy during scan.
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Postby rpapa » Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:19 pm

it's 4.0.071.

We've tried switching the slot (there's only 2), the only way to get the yellow exclamation point out is to change the bios.

Isn't there a way to disable plug and play in the bios so you can change the IRQ's in device manager? It's been a while since I last did that and I can't remember what OS it was...

I'm willing to try anything right now, so I guess I will try to install vrs 4.1 with the SP2
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:23 pm

rpapa wrote:Isn't there a way to disable plug and play in the bios so you can change the IRQ's in device manager?


Depends on the BIOS. Sometimes what I can do is see the card and play with the IRQ settings right in the BIOS. If I play with the card and see something else change, then I know they share at the hardware level.

I don't recall ever having problems with the yellow ! before.
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Postby rpapa » Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:52 pm

this is the error in the ascent logs:

I noticed that the error that comes up is usually the timeout error, followed by the unknown isis error.

Code: Select all
2008-02-12 13:41:24, 0x00000018, 0, 0x00000000, 0x00000001, 0x00000000, C:\Program Files\Ascent\Bin, Scan, PORTLAND, 5.51.033, PageFeeder.cpp, 274, An error occurred while scanning or importing - Timeout., Error originally reported by Image Controls: 20044 "Timeout", === begin CallStack output ===7FFE0304: <no module><no symbol>=== end CallStack output ===

2008-02-12 13:43:11, 0x00000018, 0, 0x00000000, 0x00000001, 0x00000000, C:\Program Files\Ascent\Bin, Scan, PORTLAND, 5.51.033, PageFeeder.cpp, 274, An error occurred while scanning or importing - Unknown ISIS error.., Error originally reported by Image Controls: 20393 "Unknown ISIS error.", === begin CallStack output ===7FFE0304: <no module><no symbol>=== end CallStack output ===

rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby rpapa » Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:22 am

I think I know what is causing the problem.

For some reason, the image is scanned all black. Because cropping, the image becomes all white. When I turned cropping off, I get the original image, which is all black.

I've updated to VRS 4.1, SP2.

Changing the timeout to zero did not give me errors, but I get images that are all black. Now what would cause the image to be all black?

Before the hardware swap (just the PC), the scanner was working fine.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:49 pm

rpapa wrote:Now what would cause the image to be all black?


Usually it's bad settings in Brightness/Contrast.
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Postby rpapa » Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:07 pm

but a rescan with the same settings doesn't give me a black image.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:30 pm

The bulb may be going. The 500FB isn't a spring chicken.

But given how this started, it's likely to be something else.

Bad memory/Bad cache can do funky things.
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Postby rpapa » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:05 am

this is so frustrating...

I've disabled AIPE in vcdemo and I still get the problem, black image, then it times out. then when I reboot who knows wether I need to change some bios settings for the network card. So looks like it's down to the isis driver. Kodak service claims there's nothing wrong with the scanner, though I do NOT know how many pages were scanned.
rpapa
Participant
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan


Return to Adrenaline General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests