Enabling Additional KCN Services

Ascent Capture Internet Server

Enabling Additional KCN Services

Postby Pieter Meyer » Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:20 pm

Can anyone help me with enabling additional KCN Services?

We have been having difficulties managing to synchronize our remote site when we make an update to the configuration as from what I understand from the documentation our KCN Server is overloaded. The recommended ratio of KCN Server: Sites is 1:50 and we currently have 1:120 hence our problem. On the Kofax Capture documentation there is some information about adding additional KCN Server services but ether I'm missing some thing or the information is not complete.

We are running KC 9 with service pack 3 with KCN. The operating system is Windows Server 2008 R2.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Pieter Meyer
Participant
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:06 am

Re: Enabling Additional KCN Services

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:13 am

I believe the way to add them is exactly the way you created the first one. What kind of problems are you running into? Did you lose the password for the KCN login?
Russell
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: Enabling Additional KCN Services

Postby jimargarcia » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:23 pm

You will want to run AcisCfg.exe on those machines in the central site that you want the ACI Service installed. The Kofax Capture Service will be updated on those machines to take on the ACI Service "responsibilities".

Hope this helps,
Jimar
Jimar G. Garcia
consulting [at] jimargarcia [dot] com
http://jimargarcia.com
jimargarcia
Participant
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:33 pm
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Enabling Additional KCN Services

Postby Pieter Meyer » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:20 pm

Thanks for all your feedback I much appreciate it.

If the central site consists only of one server does that mean I need to add more servers to enable additional KCN Server services?

The central site is a virtual environment.
Pieter Meyer
Participant
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:06 am

Re: Enabling Additional KCN Services

Postby russell@centuryc.com » Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:15 am

Pieter Meyer wrote:If the central site consists only of one server does that mean I need to add more servers to enable additional KCN Server services?


You'd need to install the additional service on a different machine, but you don't need additional Capture servers.
Russell
russell@centuryc.com
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA

Re: Enabling Additional KCN Services

Postby Pieter Meyer » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:51 pm

Thanks for all your help and I know how to proceed now.
Pieter Meyer
Participant
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:06 am


Return to Network Server General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest