Incorrect Bacth ID

Incorrect Bacth ID

Postby » Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:38 am

At a one of our clients site we have an we an instillations of AC 7.5 with Ascent Collection Server and instillation of 45 Capio clients installed on their WAN network. Every so often, when Capio has finished installing the validation scripts, the Capio receives an incorrect Batch ID error message on the screen. Coupled with that in the error where session ID invalid and database updating error messages that we found in the log files.

We were able to figure out the cause of the database error messages were caused by the default Ascent Capture database(MSDE) being full and we migrated the data to a full SQL 2005 database and session ID was because of the users becoming idle on their clients and, obviously, the session expiring. We could not, however, find the cause of the incorrect Batch ID. The problem is experienced by some users with a certain number of the them experiencing the problem quite consistently.

There are 50 users licensed to use Capio on the system but even with all licences unused on the server, the users who experienced this consistently still came up with the same problem and others would log in with out a problem.
Participant
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:06 pm

Postby » Thu Mar 27, 2008 5:38 am

As the solution to the above mentioned problem does not seem to documented anywhere, this is to anyone who maybe interested.

When Capio sends a document to the Collection Server, the client waits for a confirmation of a successful send. Until then, Capio keeps a copy of the batch contents in the cache. With this temporary session that is initialized, Kofax assigns a BatchID for each batch coming in to keep track of the status of the batch.

What seems to have happened in our case is that, for some or other reason, which I am still investigating, the Capio does not receive the message of the confirmation from the Server. Kofax has already received the batch and released it successfully and hence removes the record from the Collection Server. So when Capio is next opened, it synchronises with the to receive the status of the previously sent batch and does not find it since the BatchID it received from Kofax no longer exists. By deleting the batches that have been in waiting for a long time(obviously keeping a copy of the images to find out the ones that might not have been sent) I was able to get rid of the error message it kept bringing in at sync.
Participant
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:06 pm

Postby » Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:27 pm

TJStylus wrote:What seems to have happened in our case is that, for some or other reason, which I am still investigating, the Capio does not receive the message of the confirmation from the Server.


If that's anything like ACIS remote sites, the time from sending to receiving confirmation can take awhile. It's possible that once the user thought the batch was sent, they shutdown the program and/or the machine.
Participant
 
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: USA


Return to Capio with ACS and Ascent

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests